Weekly Writing Challenge: Emptiness

In this week’s Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words, I chose ’emptiness’.


Image

I have decided upon a poem, bearing in mind that I was never very good at them.

 

This old place, I’d like to say;

Was a place to get away

A place to settle all my fears;

A place I went to for many years

This old hall with all its arches;

The trees with all their swaying branches

I can remember some happy times;

Like when I hear the tinny sound of wind chimes

But not all is well in this dark hall;

Misery consumes it, all in all

I want the way it used to be;

Before the day I died at sea

And now I’m stuck within the walls;

Of all these arched and lonely halls

No way to move, I cannot scream;

All is lost, so it would seem

I see no-one, and I hear no-one;

And there is no place to run

This old place, I’d like to say;

Was a place to run away

14 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Emptiness

  1. Pingback: Journey of love | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | imagination

  3. Pingback: DP Challenge: Carlos Santos Cardona | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 1000 words | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: The End Of The Tunnel | Where is my mind?

  7. Pingback: I got a monster in my bed! | Words 'n Pics...

  8. Pingback: One week with her | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – 1000 words – I wish |

  10. Pingback: A lighter enlightenment | litadoolan

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – 5 FEB 14 | Joe's Musings

  12. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words

  13. Pingback: Changing the World, One Loan at a Time (Kiva – A Online Charity) | Ramisa the Authoress

  14. Pingback: Changing the World, One Loan at a Time (Kiva – A Online Charity) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

